Spoonie Essentials Box Review + Coupon Code – May 2017

Spoonie Essentials Box Review + Coupon Code – May 2017

Spoonie Essentials Box is a monthly subscription care package for chronic illness fighters (spoonies). Each month, CEO Brittani - who is a Spoonie, herself - carefully selects 5-8 products, goods, and services built around the culture of being an "invisible illness warrior & chronic disease ninja!" The items in each box are intended to support spoonies on the bad days, compliment them on the good days, and enhance infusions or hospital "stay-cations."

Cost: $39.99/month (USD)

Shipping: US - $12 | International - $20

Coupon Code: GIRLMEETSBOX - Save 10% off any subscription!

Spoonie Essentials Box Review + Coupon Code – May 2017

There was no info card in this box which I wish they'd include. It seems like there's a bit of a summer/first-aid theme going on here.

Spoonie Essentials Box Review + Coupon Code – May 2017

Free People Forget Me Not Aviator Sunglasses

These sunglasses are so cool! The modern shaped cat eye aviators feature metal frames and an edgy eyebrow bar. This style is hot right now and I love the mirrored rose gold. One thing I noticed that concerned me was the warning on the Free People website: "WARNING: This product contains a chemical known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm." I don't like the sound of that!

Spoonie Essentials Box Review + Coupon Code – May 2017

Spoonie Essentials Box Review + Coupon Code – May 2017

Max Block After Sun Aloe Vera Soothing Gel

This after sun gel is formulated with aloe vera to help soothe and moisturize dry, rough, and sunburned skin. An inexpensive product that's found in most dollar stores.

Spoonie Essentials Box Review + Coupon Code – May 2017

Mini Fan

This mini fan will hopefully provide some relief from the heat. It requires 2 AA batteries that are not included.

Spoonie Essentials Box Review + Coupon Code – May 2017

Unbelievable Skincare Original Facial Exfoliant

This powdered facial exfoliant works by adding a little warm water to form a paste, then you massage into skin and rinse. It provides softness and a natural glow while you regenerate new skin cells, stimulates blood flow and unclogs pores. It's made with Oats, Powdered Goat's Milk, Rhassoul Clay, Cranberry Seeds, GMO-free Apricot Meal, Vitamin C, Kosher Certified Sodium Bicarbonate, and 100% Therapeutic Essential Oils of Lavender, and Elemi.

Spoonie Essentials Box Review + Coupon Code – May 2017

Hot/Cold Pack

Soothe pain with this hot/cold pack. It's pretty small, good for headaches or small areas on your body.

Blistex Medicated Lip Balm

This lip balm contains three long-lasting protectants and it seals in moisture to alleviate dryness and prevent reoccurrence. Plus, a bit of sun protection with an SPF 15.

Spoonie Essentials Box Review + Coupon Code – May 2017

Johnson & Johnson First Aid To Go

This little first aid kit comes in a durable plastic case, great for on-the-go. It has 12 essential first aid items like cleansing wipes, gauze pad, and band-aids. I actually just ran out of band-aids so this will come in handy.

Antibacterial Moist Wipes & Alcohol Pads

I always like to keep wipes in my bag. I use them all the time and I like that these are antibacterial. There's also a few alcohol prep pads.

Spoonie Essentials Box Review + Coupon Code – May 2017

Naturally Bare Baked Crunchy Apple Chips

These are real apples, baked until crunchy. They have no added sugar or preservatives. A snack is always good to have for snack attacks and comfort.

Thank You Card

Show your appreciation for those who support you during your illness with this thank you card.

Spoonie Essentials Box Review + Coupon Code – May 2017

I loved last month's Spoonie Essentials Box, so I was expecting to like this one just as much. I can appreciate there are some useful items, but I feel like the quality is lacking and I would've like some explanation or info card for the items. The sunglasses really concern me. Why on earth is it being sold if it has a chemical known to cause cancer?! I don't think someone with a chronic illness needs more health problems in their life! I think there's definitely room for improvement with this box, but I'm hopeful that future boxes will be better when their first one was pretty great!

What do you think of Spoonie Essentials Box?

Disclosure: This page may contain external affiliate links or referral links. The opinions on this page are my own and I do not receive payment for favourable reviews.

2 Shares
Share1
Tweet1
Pin