Bokksu Subscription Box Review – May 2017

Bokksu Subscription Box Review – May 2017

The owner of Bokksu, Danny Taing, lived for four years in Japan during which time, he travelled into many regions trying as much snack food as he could. I tried to do the same thing during the three weeks I was there. One thing about Japan is that each and every region is famous for something and they often have a unique spin to classic products. The Japanese are crazy about their snacks. For example, some prefectures even have mascots which promote a region. You can find these mascots on the packaged treats sold all over Japan. It is not surprising that the world has become very curious about what Japan has to offer. You will never find anything quite like Japan. So if you like snack food, you have to try what Bokksu has to offer. You will notice I did not use the term ‘junk food’ as the snacks from Japan are often made from a healthy based alternatives. Yes, there are still calories to count in some instances but generally these are far better alternatives to the processed snacks available in North America.

Bokksu is a premium Japanese snack subscription box. Bokksu is unlike any other Japanese snack subscription. They handpick snacks that people in Japan actually eat and curate them into beautiful themed boxes every month. They are also the only Japanese box subscription that includes a Tea Pairing specifically selected to complement that month's delicacies as well as a Tasting Guide that describes the story and flavours of each item in the box. Don’t forget the Bokksu Rewards Club. You can earn points and redeem them for exclusive rewards like coupons and free boxes!

There are 2 box options:

  • Classic Box - $39/month
  • Tasting Box (US only) - $19/month

Shipping: US - Free | Canada - $5 |  All other countries - $15

Bokksu Subscription Box Review – May 2017

This month Bokksu is delivering the fan favourites from the past year. The best of the best!

Bokksu Subscription Box Review – May 2017

Info card:

Bokksu Subscription Box Review – May 2017

Cheese Manju Okashinai

Manju is a traditional Japanese confection made with flour, rice powder, and buckwheat. Instead of the traditional red bean filling, this fluffy manju from Akita Prefecture is stuffed with white bean and cheese to create a sweet and savory happy delight.

20th Century Pear Langue De Chat

Made using 20th Century Pear from Tottori Prefecture, this crumbly butter cookie infuses your mouth with a perfect blend of white chocolate and fragrant pear with each bite.

Bokksu Subscription Box Review – May 2017

OH! Yaki Toukibi

Hailing from Hokkaido’s capital city of Sapporo, this crunchy mochi and corn snack becomes more addictive with every bite. Soy sauce is also sprinkled in to mix in a savory deliciousness to the natural sweetness.

Bokksu Subscription Box Review – May 2017

Black Sesame Senbei

Senbei is a traditional Japanese rice cracker usually baked or grilled and glazed with soy sauce. Goma (black sesame adds a roasted, toasty flavor that compliments the savory, crispy taste of the senbei well.  These cookies are surprisingly light and super crunchy. One of my personal favourites.

Bokksu Subscription Box Review – May 2017

Jaga Pokkuru

Jaga Pokkuru is made from 100% Hokkaido-grown potatoes. These high quality potatoes are cut and processed using a unique method to achieve this snacks signature crispy texture. The roasted salt further brings out the potatoes innate flavours.

Bokksu Subscription Box Review – May 2017

Bake Chocolate

This fluffy, rich chocolate is baked to perfection and melts in your mouth with every bite. These mini chocolate cakes are so delicious that you won’t be able to have just one. It is too bad they are just bite sized! I really enjoyed the softness and consistency of something like a brownie.

Bokksu Subscription Box Review – May 2017

Apple Green Tea

The apple green tea is a unique blend of premium sencha gren tea with crisp, sweet apples and aromatic rose petals. Enjoy the fragrant smells of apple and rose before taking warming sips of this slightly bittersweet tea. I tried this one and I found it very light and refreshing.

Maru Cha Cha

Unlike many other matcha snacks that use usucha (light tea), this slim and sleek gluten-free matcha biscuit uses koicha (concentrated tea), which is a higher quality matcha that results in a richer flavour.

Bokksu Subscription Box Review – May 2017

A large box filled with snacks. I really like that there is a lot of variety as well as many samples of the same snack. If I try something and love it, I know I have another one I can enjoy later. Also, I liked having a tea to go along with the snacks. That is the first time I have seen that in a snack box and it was a nice touch. The value seems on par with what the other Japanese snack boxes are offering. Great packaging with a very sturdy, colourful orange box. Bokksu started about a year ago this May and deliver boxes to over twenty countries. So, Happy Birthday Bokksu, I hope you have another successful year.

What do you think if Bokksu?

Disclosure: This page may contain external affiliate links or referral links. The opinions on this page are my own and I do not receive payment for favourable reviews.

2 Shares
Share2
Tweet
Pin