The Tasting Box by Foodie Pages Review + Discount – October 2014

The Tasting Box by Foodie Pages Review + Discount – October 2014

The Tasting Box is a monthly food box, but is not a subscription. Boxes are sold on a first come first serve basis. Each box includes 4 or 5 scrumptious tastes to enjoy, made by favourite Canadian food makers and delivered to your door. This is your chance to sample and learn from the incredible culinary talents right here in our own backyard!

Cost: $14.95 / month + Shipping or free pickup in Toronto and Ottawa.

Sign up using my LINK and you’ll receive a $10 coupon for your first purchase when you complete the sign-up process.

Read all my Tasting Box reviews.

Something new which is only good for customers in Ottawa and Toronto like myself, is you can now pick up your box instead of paying for shipping. I opted to pick up my box this month and had the pleasure of meeting Carolyn from Foodie Pages. We chatted for a few minutes and it was nice to meet someone from the Foodie Pages team and talk about the company for a bit.

The Art of Pudding Prince George Pudding

With 70% fruit, and brandy as the only added preservative, this heritage dessert is fit for royalty! This pudding will get you in the festive spirit!

This came in a very nice box that would be great to gift. My husband and I sampled it, but we both aren't into these type of desserts and neither one of us liked it. It's too bad, because it came in a generous portion.

The Tasting Box by Foodie Pages Review + Discount – October 2014

The Tasting Box by Foodie Pages Review + Discount – October 2014

Splendor Garden Organic Spices, Herbs and Seasonings (Paprika Smoked)

Pungent and aromatic, these are some of the finest flavours on earth. All natural, organic, non-GMO.

I don’t think we've received spices before in a Tasting Box, but we’ll definitely be giving this a try.

The Tasting Box by Foodie Pages Review + Discount – October 2014

Jewels Under the Kilt Ontario Roasted Nuts

Ontario pecans, walnuts and hazelnuts roasted with fresh fruit and tasty flavourings - cinnamon, chipotle, maple. No added fat or refined sugars. No wheat, no dairy.

Haha, I love the name - “Jewels Under the Kilt”! These were very good. I love nuts and the flavours were just right - a very good snack!

The Tasting Box by Foodie Pages Review + Discount – October 2014

Kate’s Kookies Shortbread (Chocolate Caramel & Butterscotch Toffee)

The delicious gourmet treats that made Kate famous! Fresh baked by hand and made to order. Life’s Short...Eat Kookies!

You can’t tell from the picture what these looked like, but there were 2 very small samples. They were very good and left us wanting more!

The Tasting Box by Foodie Pages Review + Discount – October 2014

The Sweet Brigade Brigadeiros

Best described as a cross between truffles, caramels, and fudge, but the only way to truly understand what has made generations of Brazilians fall in love with this dessert is to try them for yourself!

There were 2 samples to try, coconut and nutella. Even though I’m not a fan of either flavours, they were both good. I’d like to try more!

The Tasting Box by Foodie Pages Review + Discount – October 2014

The Tasting Box by Foodie Pages Review + Discount – October 2014

U-RAWW! Hemptations Energy Bars

Delicious, nutritious, and handmade with fresh, all-natural ingredients, including Canadian hemp powder. The perfect snack for those on the go!

The texture of this was a turn-off. It’s hard to describe, but it’s kind of a pasty texture. I’m picky when it comes to energy bars, so this wasn’t my kind of bar.

The Tasting Box by Foodie Pages Review + Discount – October 2014

This box had some hits and misses. I loved that there were 6 snacks, so that’s great, but not everyone was for me. The Tasting Box is all about trying new snacks which I love to do and I expect that I won’t love every one, so that’s ok. At this price it’s worth having some fun trying the box and being introduced to new foodmakers from around Canada. The Tasting Box also makes a great gift for any foodie! The next Tasting Box will be available on November 3rd at noon EST.

What do you think of The Tasting Box?

Disclosure: This page may contain external affiliate links or referral links. The opinions on this page are my own and I do not receive payment for favourable reviews.

4 Shares
Share4
Tweet
Pin