Loot Crate Review + Coupon Code – June 2016

Loot Crate Review + Coupon Code – June 2016

Loot Crate is a monthly subscription box service for geeks, nerds, comic book lovers, and pop culture aficionados. Every month, subscribers receive a mystery box full of collectibles, figurines, apparel, and memorabilia. Each box contains at least $45 in value and many items are exclusively created for the Loot Crate community. Each crate also has a theme centered around major franchises, theatrical releases, and events. Loot Crate offers various boxes: Loot Crate, Loot Crate DX, Loot Anime, Loot Gaming, Loot Pets, Firefly, Level Up, and Limited Edition Crates.

Cost: $29.95/month – shipping included (CDN), $13.95/month (USD), other countries will be charged in that country’s currency.

Shipping: US - $6, International shipping is included in the price

Coupon Code:

  • GIRL3 – Save $3 off Loot CrateLoot Pets, Loot Anime, or Level Up.
  • FREEFIG – Get a FREE mystery figure with new 3, 6, 12 month subscriptions!

This month’s theme is Dystopia, a less than ideal pop culture society.

Loot Crate Review + Coupon Code – June 2016

Loot Crate Review + Coupon Code – June 2016

Included in each box is the Loot Crate magazine that has details of the box contents and other fun stuff! This month the magazine covers Robocop and Terminator as famous characters of a dystopian future. There are also articles on the Dystopian Psychology, subtypes, and dress. The articles are not long but a fun easy read to supplement all the cool stuff you just got.

Loot Crate Review + Coupon Code – June 2016

You also get a Loot Pin that unlocks something epic. You’ll need to login to your Loot Crate account to redeem the item. This month the pin is the bomb. No, really, it’s a bomb. Inspired by Fallout 4, it unlocks exclusive wallpaper and ringtones. There is also a digital download to a game called Fallout Shelter. That was already free for android and iOS.

Loot Crate Review + Coupon Code – June 2016

Robocop T-Shirt
$20

RoboCop is a 1987 American cyberpunk action film directed by Paul Verhoeven and written by Edward Neumeier and Michael Miner. Set in a crime-ridden Detroit, Michigan, in the near future, RoboCop centers on police officer Alex Murphy who is brutally murdered by a gang of criminals and subsequently revived by the megacorporation Omni Consumer Products (OCP) as a superhuman cyborg law enforcer known as "RoboCop". From grey matter art, purveyors of cool, limited edition entertainment artwork, this graphic has never seen duty on a t-shirt before. This shirt is awesome. Soft 60% cotton and 40% polyester and made in China! Seriously though, 2XL? Did we get the last shirt or what?! I do not think I can even shrink this to a decent size. So disappointing.

Loot Crate Review + Coupon Code – June 2016

Terminator 2 Metal Print

T2 is the 1991 follow up to the 1984 cult classic The Terminator. The filming of Terminator 2 cost $102 million dollars making it the most expensive film made at that time. Much of the film's massive budget was spent on filming and special effects. The movie was credited for breakthroughs in CGI including the first use of natural human motion for a computer-generated character and the first partially computer-generated main character. Terminator 2 is considered one of the most influential movies ever made. This metal print is a bust of the head of the robotic next generation terminator that hunts our anti-hero down. This is an exclusive design from Loot Crate lab. It is metal, 3D and looks very cool. Now if I can just figure out where to hang this. Wait! How do I hang this?

Loot Crate Review + Coupon Code – June 2016

Bioshock Infinite Blank Key
$18

I love these little practical treasures. The head of the key has a bird cage on one side and a dove on the other, just like in the game. In the Bioshock game, the Key is given to Elizabeth to unlock chests that are part of side quests. You could display this or get it cut to unlock your front door. It does not unlock any secret chests full of voxophones or infusions. If you played Bioshock infinite, you know where I am coming from.

Loot Crate Review + Coupon Code – June 2016

Matrix Puzzle
$4

A 300 piece puzzle that makes a 11 in x 14 in image inspired from the movie. The Matrix is a 1999 neo-noir sci-fi film about a dystopian future. In this future reality as perceived by most humans is actually a simulated reality called "The Matrix", created by sentient machines to subdue the human population, while their bodies' heat and electrical activity are used as an energy source. Are we sure that this is just a puzzle?

Loot Crate Review + Coupon Code – June 2016

Fallout Power Armor Dorbz Vinyl Collectible (#104)
$10

I have become addicted to these things since I started reviewing subscription boxes. This one is a happy addition to my collection. Inspired from the Fallout 4 video game, this represents the suit that protects the user against the harsh landscape of the game. If you open up the shipping box, you get a back drop that you could display the figure against. If you were inclined to do that sort of thing to a collectible. Yikes!

Loot Crate Review + Coupon Code – June 2016

Loot Crate is another offering in the geek box line of subscriptions. This one from the US is similar to the amazing products coming for the UK. It falls right in line with quality and the fun factor (if this can even be measured) is awesome! I really love getting into a geek box and digging up those gems like the Bioshock key or the pin. It is the little details that make this box exceptional, like the inside of the box being a background for the collectible figure. I find the value of the items exceptional especially if you are ordering in the US. The shirt alone is worth the price of the subscription. For my friends in Canada, it is a bit more expensive but not oppressive. The price is about double what the Americans will pay. If you live close to the border like I do (about 45 min away) you could have your box shipped to a UPS location and pick it up there, thus US shipping rates and subscription prices. I also want to mention that Loot Crate offers unique limited edition boxes with more lucrative items. For example, they have a limited edition Star Wars box for $100 US with tons of neat stuff. If you are into the geek box scene, this company should definitely be on your radar. Good work Loot Crate! Keep it up.

What do you think of Loot Crate?

Disclosure: This page may contain external affiliate links or referral links. The opinions on this page are my own and I do not receive payment for favourable reviews.

5 Shares
Share2
Tweet2
Pin1