Coffret Chocolate Subscription Box Review – July 2018

Coffret Chocolate Subscription Box Review – July 2018

Coffret Chocolate is a new Canadian monthly subscription box of world-class, artisan chocolate. Boxes are curated by chocolate experts across Canada; each month will feature a different chocolate shop from somewhere in the country. Each box will contain approximately $40 of Canadian craft chocolate.

Cost: $40/month

Shipping: $14 - Canada only

Coffret Chocolate Subscription Box Review – July 2018

The chocolate was well-packaged. It's very hot here but the chocolate is insulated so it didn't melt.

Coffret Chocolate Subscription Box Review – July 2018

This month's feature chocolate is by Hummingbird Chocolate from Almonte, Ontario. Hummingbird is one of Canada's first bean-to-bar chocolate makers. They've developed relationships with small agricultural producers around the world which inspired them to source cocoa beans for their chocolate directly from small farmers. Buying directly allows them to pay farmers a premium well above fair trade rates for the extraordinary cacao that goes into the chocolate they make, and offer farmers a secure livelihood.

Coffret Chocolate Subscription Box Review – July 2018

All 5 bars in this box are 70% dark chocolate, with only 3 ingredients - organic cocoa, organic cane sugar, and organic cocoa butter. The differences you'll find when you taste them are because they are single-origin chocolate bars, each produced from cocoa beans grown in a distinct geographical area.

Hummingbird Chocolate Cap-Haïtien

This chocolate is made with cocoa beans from Haiti. This raspberry fudge chocolate has a bright raspberry start that melts into a fudgy finish, with a hint of oolong tea.

Coffret Chocolate Subscription Box Review – July 2018

Hummingbird Chocolate Copán

Brioche in a Bar - Creamy goodness with lovely bread notes. Hints of caramelized sugar and toasted almonds. Organic cacao beans from western Honduras.

Coffret Chocolate Subscription Box Review – July 2018

Hummingbird Chocolate Hispaniola

Berry Good - A fruit forward taste explosion, with hints of raisin & cherry. It's made from single-origin Trinatario cacao, cultivated by growers in the northern Dominican Republic.

Coffret Chocolate Subscription Box Review – July 2018

Hummingbird Chocolate Oh Mama!

Notes of brown sugar and butter. Deep and comforting. Memories of baking cookies with Mom. Cacao cultivated from the volcanic souls of Matagalpa, Nicaragua.

Coffret Chocolate Subscription Box Review – July 2018

Hummingbird Chocolate Zorzal

Smooth like honey with hints of apricot & pecan. 

Coffret Chocolate Subscription Box Review – July 2018

Coffret Chocolate is a great subscription box for chocolate lovers. I like the featured brand in this box. However, I don't like fruit in my chocolate so I won't be trying all of it but that's just a personal preference. I like that you get the promised $40 value but shipping needs to be lower.

What do you think of Coffret Chocolate?

Disclosure: This page may contain external affiliate links or referral links. The opinions on this page are my own and I do not receive payment for favourable reviews.

Share1
Tweet
Pin
1 Shares