Topbox Review – July 2014

Topbox Review – July 2014

Topbox is a Canadian subscription beauty box that delivers 4 deluxe beauty samples every month. Select which Topbox you want from the Wish List sent out every month. Each Wish List gives you the chance to swap your regular Topbox for any of the Privé Topboxes in the Wish List. You are not guaranteed the Topboxes you select. If you don’t get your selected Topbox, you will receive the regular Topbox.

Cost: $12 / month. Ships to Canada only.

Topbox Review – July 2014

This is the regular Topbox.

CND Vinylux Weekly Polish (Lobster Roll)
$11.90 - Full Size

I saw 2 bottles of polish and just wanted to throw this box away. I'll admit I like the colour, but I don't want ever want nail polish in a Topbox.

Topbox Review – July 2014

CND Vinylux Weekly Top Coat
$11.90 - Full Size

And a top coat to go with the polish. It's great that they gave me full sizes, but again, not a product I want from this box.

Topbox Review – July 2014

Vichy Normaderm Hyaluspot
$4 / 3 ml

I like Vichy, but I can get this sample anywhere for free.

Topbox Review – July 2014

TheBalm Cosmetics INSTAIN Long-Wearing Powder Staining Blush (Swiss Dot)
Sample

I received this same blush in a Luxe Box last year. The packaging is adorable, but I found the colour a little too intense.

Topbox Review – July 2014

Topbox Review – July 2014

One of my most disappointing Topboxes I've ever received. At this point, I'm on the verge of cancelling my subscription. Even though it's an inexpensive subscription, I don't like being disappointed every other month.

Do you subscribe to Topbox? What do you think of this subscription box? If you want to subscribe, let me know and I’ll send you an invite.

Disclosure: This page may contain external affiliate links or referral links. The opinions on this page are my own and I do not receive payment for favourable reviews.
  • Sher

    I feel your pain. Sometimes TopBox is such a miss … although I received the KMS prive box I requested this month and I am happy with it. I was, however, consistently unhappy with the value of Loose Button and that’s why I let my subscription lapse. I still think TopBox is a better value (although I too have SO many nail polishes I will never use and I really need to trade/sell them).

    • I wish Topbox was more consistent, but I love seeing the prive box options every month, that keeps it fun. I should’ve went with the Benefit one!
      I also have a lot of stuff to swap/sell. I will have to do something about it.

      • Florence

        should have gone

  • Renee C.

    This box is really interesting to me – i saw that those who selected the nailpolish prive boxes only got 2 Essie nail polishes in it! I guess at lease your value as a whole was better than theirs! It’s always worth it if you at least love one of the products but I will say our Canadian companies need to step it up a touch!!!

    Renee C.
    seetheworldinpink.blogspot.ca

    • Yep, Canadian boxes could and should do better!

    • AJ

      I agree.

  • Sharon

    I’d be disappointed with that box as well! I got the benefit prive.
    Although I remember watching a youtube video from viestelook and she said that EVERYONE was getting something benefit in July’s box. Either she misspoke or they changed their mind.

    • I didn’t hear that, about everyone getting a Benefit product this month, it would’ve been nice though. I should probably just go with a prive box next month. We’ll see…

  • Sara

    I have canceled both my Top Box and Luxe box subscriptions. I found both boxes disappointing. I get you on the nail polish front, I tend to send most of the nail polish to my mom who is one of the only people I know who paints her own nails. I wish there was a box that only sent me eye cream and tinted lip balm!

    • I had to let Luxe Box go too. I have one more box and that’ll be it. Nail polish is great and all, but it just doesn’t excite me that much. I wish Topbox would give you the option to select items you don’t want to get.

  • Florence

    I have subscribed to Luxebox and Topbox and have received quite a few nail polishes over the past couple of years. I received a nail polish in my last three Topboxes (at least they were different brands.)

    • Oh man, if they give me nail polish 3 months in a row, I’m calling it quits haha!

  • I would not have been happy with this box. One polish is bad enough but two? Topbox is becoming really hit and miss.

    • Seriously! It’s crazy how they do this to me every month. One month is good and the next is crap! I couldn’t believe it, 2 nail products!

  • Nat

    Agree, not interested in getting nail polish in topbox at all. Everytime they completely miss with the color and send me something pink I will never use. I guess I have to be happy because I got the benefit box this month. I’m not a big fan of benefit mascara, but mascara is mascara… I’ll use it up.

    • I was going to go with the Benefit box, but one of the products was in a dark shade, so that’s the only reason I didn’t get it. Hope they have some great prive boxes next month!

  • AJ

    This is the first subscription box I have ever purchased and unfortunately it has been a big let down. The only things I seem to get are lotions and nail polishes and I would much rather get an eye shadow or even trade for one if possible. Though it is only $12 dollars a month it is still frustrating.

    • I know how you feel. I wish you were able to customize your preferences. The only unique thing about this subscription is the option of the Prive boxes.

1 Shares
Share1
Tweet
Pin