Supply Pod by Outer Places Review + Coupon Code – November 2015

Supply Pod by Outer Places Subscription Box – November 2015

Supply Pod by Outer Places, the digital media company that explores the intersection of science and science fiction, is a new mystery box that uniquely delivers products themed around upcoming sci-fi releases and scientific events. The first box is based on the real-life science behind Andy Weir's debut novel, The Martian, which inspired the movie starring Matt Damon about an astronaut stranded on Mars.

Supply Pod has two box options available:

The Essential Pod: $29.99/month - contains science and sci-fi items that would be great to have if stranded on Mars.

The Deluxe Pod: $39.99/month - contains all the items in the Essential Pod plus a paperback version of The Martian by Andy Weir, currently No. 1 on the New York Times Best Sellers list.

Shipping: $7.99 - US only.

Coupon Code: GIRLMEETSBOX10 - Save 10% off the monthly or yearly subscription.

This box had me very curious if it was going to be more for adults or kids, but from the first look it seems like it's for both.

Supply Pod by Outer Places Subscription Box – November 2015

The info card has details on both sides and I love that there was so much stuff in the box!

Supply Pod by Outer Places Subscription Box – November 2015

Astronaut Freeze-Dried Ice Cream Sandwich
$3.10

This is so cool! I've never tried astronaut food before and an ice cream sandwich sounds like a good one to try. Of course, my son was dying to try it too, so I let him have it, but I managed to get a bite. It's dry as you'd expect, but as you eat the sandwich, your mouth rehydrates the ice cream, restoring it to its original state. It was pretty good!

Foam Space Glider

This is a 5" foam Space Shuttle Glider that'll be fun for the boys.

Supply Pod by Outer Places Subscription Box – November 2015

Luci EMRG Inflatable Solar Powered Light 
$9.99

This is a pocket-sized lantern, flashlight and emergency light all-in-one. Needing only sunlight to stay charged, Luci EMRG shines reliably through storms, blackouts, roadside trouble or whenever you need light. Waterproof, lightweight, and extremely durable, tuck one in your travel bag, keep one in your car and store one in your emergency kit.

Kikkerland Spaceman Magnifier
$4

This little guy is equipped with a bright LED light and 5X magnification, it's the perfect tool for reading cell phone displays and small print.

Supply Pod by Outer Places Subscription Box – November 2015

The Martian by Andy Weir
$15

A New York Times bestseller, The Martian, now a major motion picture starring Matt Damon, is a realistic story of survival on Mars. 50 Deluxe Pod customers could receive an autographed copy of The Martian. Above the book is a bookmark with a line from the book. (I can totally relate LOL!)

Supply Pod by Outer Places Subscription Box – November 2015

4M Green Science Weather Station
$15?

This multi-functional kit includes a wind vane, an anemometer, a thermometer, and a rain gauge. You can also experiment with the greenhouse effect and create a terrarium in a bottle.

Supply Pod by Outer Places Subscription Box – November 2015

Alien vs. Predator Fire and Stone #1
$3.50

As the mercenary crew of the Perses leave the horror of LV-223 behind them, one passenger reveals a terrible new danger, and the crew soon find themselves in a deadly struggle between predator and prey!

I'm sure R will appreciate this comic and it's nice to see that it came packaged in plastic and a board to keep it in good condition.

Supply Pod by Outer Places Subscription Box – November 2015

Buymars.com Special Offer

I almost overlooked this at first, but this is kind of a cool offer. You can get a free planet Mars rock with the purchase of any Planet Mars gift package. Usually I don't like these type of offers when you have to spend money to get something free, but I'm considering getting it for my son.

Supply Pod by Outer Places Subscription Box – November 2015

Planets Chart

This chart shows you the 10 confirmed exoplanets that have the best chance of hosting life outside our solar system. They refer to this as the "Goldilocks Zone" because the habitable zone is considered to be not too hot or too cold, but just right.

Supply Pod by Outer Places Subscription Box – November 2015

The total value of this month's Supply Pod is over $50 (not including the discount code, chart, and foam space glider). I think it's an excellent box for children at least 6 years of age and over who have an interest in science and space. The box is unique and had some very cool things! The book is obviously more for adults, but the entire box would be great for anyone who's an avid science and sci-fi fan. I like how each month the theme will be based on an upcoming sci-fi release and scientific event. It keeps the box current, fresh and fascinating!

What do you think of Supply Pod?

Disclosure: This page may contain external affiliate links or referral links. The opinions on this page are my own and I do not receive payment for favourable reviews.
  • Fun theme in here!

  • Taco Penguin

    The thing’s you get in this box actually seem pretty nice.

1 Shares
Share1
Tweet
Pin