Snakku Subscription Box Review + Promo Code – July 2017

Snakku Subscription Box Review + Promo Code – July 2017

Snakku is an authentic Japanese snack subscription box. The snacks that they include are high quality snacks directly from Japan that you can’t get anywhere else. You can expect about 10-13 tasty snacks in every box! Snakku also offers a Tasting Box for $15.75/month + free shipping (US only). You’ll receive 5-7 expertly curated Japanese snacks.

Cost: $38.95/month - Longer plans available.

Shipping: Free - Worldwide

Promo Code: girlmeetsbox – Save 5% off your subscription.

Check out all our Snakku reviews.

You may recognize the furoshiki (traditional Japanese wrapping cloth) from last month as it is the same design. Still my favorite packaging of any subscription box. So elegant and beautiful.

Snakku Subscription Box Review + Promo Code – July 2017

Snakku Subscription Box Review + Promo Code – July 2017

This month Snakku puts the focus on matcha. Matcha has grown in popularity and can now be found everywhere in products such as teas, lattes, and desserts. Matcha is derived from the same plant that brings us green tea. The growing process that produces matcha is different with the plants grown mostly in the shade and the leaves ground to a fine powder. There are different grades of matcha as well. The light green colour signifies a lower quality and has a sharper, bitter taste. The dark green matcha is of the highest quality and delivers a refined fragrant taste. It is easy to see why matcha has gained in popularity due to the numerous health benefits it is associated with. Matcha helps to prevent heart disease, lower blood pressure, boost metabolism and it also has anti aging effects. This is mainly due to the presence of antioxidants. Matcha contains more caffeine than coffee but it is released slowly so that you remain alert throughout the day.

Snakku Subscription Box Review + Promo Code – July 2017

The product card has an image of matcha tea in its many incarnations. The Iwai Matcha Candy pictured with the card recently won the National Hyogo Tea Ceremony Award.

Iwai Matcha Candy

Iwai confectionery has been making these matcha powder filled candies for over a 100 years in their small factory. Delicious.

Snakku Subscription Box Review + Promo Code – July 2017

Matcha Latte
$2.80

Itohkyuemon is a famous tea shop in Kyoto that has been producing premium green tea since 1952. They uphold tradition by handpicking all of their tea leaves and store grinding their matcha. This packet of matcha is lightly sweetened and is perfect hot or cold.

There are instructions for either hot or cold preparation in Japanese. I have used packages of instant coffee like this so I suggest no more than 8 ounces of water for one serving.

Tsujirihei Cookie
$2.70

Tsuji Rihei is a premium tea shop which has been growing tea for 150 years. Their teas are considered one of the best in Japan. This is a Langues-de-Chat matcha cookie sandwich. It will pair nicely with the matcha latte above.

This is a Langues-de-Chat matcha cookie sandwich. It will pair nicely with the matcha latte above.

Snakku Subscription Box Review + Promo Code – July 2017

Uji Matcha Senbei
$3.20

Itohkyuemon’s most popular snack! These senbei are made using premium tea grown in the Uji region outside of Kyoto.

The light crispy cracker is perfect as an afternoon snack.

Temari Monaka
$4.80

Airy wafers, in the shape of a traditional Japanese Temari handball, stuffed with creamy matcha filling.

Snakku Subscription Box Review + Promo Code – July 2017

Matcha Crepe Roll

Organic crepe cookie filled with premium matcha cream from Kyoto. Make yourself a nice cup of tea to complement this delicious treat.

Matcha Waffle

Twice-baked, matcha-infused waffles, filled with a lightly sweetened matcha cream. Morihan has been making these snacks since 1836.

Snakku Subscription Box Review + Promo Code – July 2017

Sittori Matcha
$3.50

An airy matcha cream-dipped biscotti.

Snakku Subscription Box Review + Promo Code – July 2017

Honey Butter Senbei
$3.50

Baked corn senbei topped with a honey, butter glaze and sprinkled with cheese and dried parsley.

Snakku Subscription Box Review + Promo Code – July 2017

Matcha Harvest

Lightly sweetened, baked matcha cookies. Cookies don’t get much better than this.

Snakku Subscription Box Review + Promo Code – July 2017

It is quite remarkable to see just how many ways that matcha is used in Japan. I think the clear candies with the little portion of powdered matcha in the center are most impressive.  Maybe it is just me but the center seems to look a lot like a small leaf. Quite inventive. Again, it is not easy to source prices here. I found a few things and I have included the prices for those items. In my opinion, the value is in the curation (matcha theme) and the uniqueness of the items. These are not items that you can get easily, and you certainly cannot go on Amazon and order your favourites. I did find out that if you find something in your Snakku box that you absolutely need to have more of, Snakku sells a few of the products on their website. Don’t wait too long, these products tend to sell out quickly.

What do you think of Snakku?

Disclosure: This page may contain external affiliate links or referral links. The opinions on this page are my own and I do not receive payment for favourable reviews.
  • Some nice snacks and I like how everything was packaged.

What will be in your box?
2 Shares
Share1
Tweet1
Pin