PopSugar Must Have Box – May 2013 Review

Share:

PopSugar Must Have Box - May 2013

This month’s PopSugar review is brought to you by guest-blogger Caitlin, a subscription box addict from the U.S. Visit her facebook and follow her on twitter.

The Must Have Box is a subscription box service offered by PopSugar. It’s $35 a month (use coupon code REFER5 to save $5 off your first month), and the box includes hand-selected items in beauty, fashion, home, fitness and food. The best part about the box is that it’s always full-sized items.

This only my second Must Have Box and I’ve been anxiously awaiting its arrival! There was a lot of negative feedback with the April box, and I think PopSugar outdid themselves this month because they saw the drop in subscriptions and received angry letters. It’s not that it was a bad box, it just didn’t have as many items as their previous boxes, and there were repeat items. The value in this box is amazing! Just wait until you see the total cost of everything compared to what you pay!

PopSugar Branded Lunch Bag

PopSugar Must Have Box - May 2013

Value: $2.00

I thought this bag was really cute. I always use any reusable shopping bags as lunch bags, so this will be great!

Kooringal – Giselle Mid Brim Hat (Black)

popsugur_may03

Value: $27.99

So far, we are almost at the cost of the box with just two items. Unfortunately, I’m not a hat person. I’m not one of those girls whose hair looks flawless after she takes off her hat and shakes her hair out. My hair pretty much stays in the same shape as it was in the hat. However, I do have a vacation to Washington D.C. coming up and this may come in handy if it’s super sunny. I may reconsider my policy on hats for this one. The sent it out in two other colors, blue and gray. I’m glad I got the black one. Black goes with everything.

The Modern Cocktail – Modern Margarita Variety Pack

PopSugar Must Have Box - May 2013

Value: $7.99

This is probably the only item in the box that I won’t use. I’m over twenty-one, however, I’ve never been much of a drinker. I’ve had margaritas before, and they are just not my thing. I might re-gift this one to my brother and sister-in-law.This does look a cute set, and great to have if you are entertaining.

Questions I Ask When I Want to Talk About Myself: 50 Topics to Share with Friends [Cards]

PopSugar Must Have Box - May 2013

Value: $14.95

I was excited to receive this. I’m a Mindy Kaling fan, although I don’t like her new show. I read her book, ‘Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me’ last summer, and it was really funny. Plus, I love talking about myself. Thank you PopSugar!

The Original BeautyBlender & Beauty Cleanser

PopSugar Must Have Box - May 2013

Value: $34.95

I had to do some research on this one. I’m a beauty junkie, but I don’t wear foundation or anything like that. I just started wearing BB Cream, so I’ll probably use the sponge with that. I guess you either put the foundation on your face or on the sponge and you just spread it around your face and it makes it look even? I’ll give it a try. I go to a lot of make-up and subscription box forums, and everyone was really excited to receive this in their box, so it must be really great.

Pacifica Natural Color Quench Lip Tint (Guava Berry)

PopSugar Must Have Box - May 2013

Value: $9.00

I’m a little disappointed that the color I received was Guava Berry, as it is purple. The last time I wore purple on my lips was in the 4th grade when they were giving away purple lipstick to promote the Spice Girls movie. I haven’t put it on my lips yet, so I do have a little hope that it will be more of a sheer color. It’s vegan and gluten-free. I thought it was kind of strange that it’s advertised as gluten-free. I thought people were only concerned with that because they have gluten allergies. Not sure if Pacifica thinks that people are going to eat it…although I did go to elementary school with a kid who used to eat chapstick when he got hungry…

Charm & Chain – Gift Card

PopSugar Must Have Box - May 2013

Value: $30

A GIFT CARD!!!!! Gift cards are one of the best gifts you can receive on Christmas (after cash of course.) I took a look at their website, and they have a lot of great brands like House of Harlow and Gorjana. I’ll be shopping in the sale section, thank you.

Way Better Snacks – Sweet Potato Sprouted Tortilla Chips (5.5oz)

PopSugar Must Have Box - May 2013

Value: $3.49

I’m always looking for healthy snacks. Now that I’m living on my own, you can easily get into a habit of just eating junk because it’s cheaper. I was hoping I would be getting the Chili flavor; however, this won’t go to waste. I’m sure my boyfriend is eating it as I type.

TOTAL VALUE: $130.37!

PopSugar really outdid themselves. I’m hoping they continue with amazing boxes like this. I’m a fan! I’ll be subscribing for at least another month. The only criticism I have is that their billing and shipping dates are different for pretty much everyone. I was billed about three days after a lot of people were, and mine was shipped about a week after everyone else’s. It also took over a week to be shipped to me, even though I live about 3-4 hours from where they ship. I’ll get over it.

PopSugar Must Have Box does not ship to Canada. However, I thought if there are any U.S. readers out there they could benefit from her review.

 
  • purplelara

    This is the box I wish would ship to Canada the most! I’m so glad you commented on my blog so I could find yours – it’s great! And you are going to make me go broke! I have about ten tabs open of subscriptions I haven’t heard of that ship to Canada. I’ll use your referral links where I can – thanks again!

    I’m also going to go follow you on twitter now :)

  • NatLo

    Do you know if they will ship the box to the border depot?

    • http://girlmeetsbox.com/ Lisa

      Sorry I have no idea. This post was done by a guest blogger. I am in Canada, so I wouldn’t know.