Northern Supply Box Subscription Box Review + Promo Code – February 2018

Northern Supply Box Subscription Box Review + Promo Code – February 2018

Northern Supply Box is a subscription box offering up an ever-changing selection of Northern Ontario goods that are sophisticatedly savage and deliciously intriguing once a month. Boxes will contain a SURPRISE mix of breads, desserts, coffee, grains, cured meats, syrups, cheeses, jams, spices, herbs and more every month!

Cost: $55/month

Shipping: $4.99 - Ontario only

Promo Code: MEETTHENORTH - Save 10% off your first box!

Northern Supply Box Subscription Box Review + Promo Code – February 2018

The box was larger than expected. I was excited to see the offerings from farmers, cooks and chefs from my home province.

Northern Supply Box Subscription Box Review + Promo Code – February 2018

They include info on the items featured in the box.

Northern Supply Box Subscription Box Review + Promo Code – February 2018

Northern Ontario Garlic

Garlic is one of my favourite ingredients and I use it in a lot of dishes. This specific garlic was grown by Wayne Davies, a garlic farmer who is the proclaimed garlic King of Northern Ontario. This particular garlic was discovered in Boston by a man who had developed a hard neck strain that produced large cloves. Many years ago, Wayne drove down to Boston and got his garlic seed directly from Al Music. This is the same garlic from that original seed. Music garlic is easy to purchase anywhere in Canada, but this specific garlic is a piece of Canadian farming history.

Northern Supply Box Subscription Box Review + Promo Code – February 2018

Bees & Berries Farm Honey

Bees & Berries Farm is a Timmins-based bee farm operated by Rene and Joanne Bertrand which provides unpasteurized honey and pollen. 

Bees & Berries Farm practice ecological beekeeping, where they don't take honey from the bees' until spring when it warms up which means the bees' are able to use it throughout the winter. This helps with the issue of colony collapse disorder. Their apiary resides in a dense pine forest and the honey has a very interesting and unique flavour.

Northern Supply Box Subscription Box Review + Promo Code – February 2018

Nish Scon Scon/Baddock in a Bag

A traditional recipe that has been passed down from Anishnawbe people by many mothers and grandmothers. Nish Scon is a convenient and quality recipe that is shared with you to make fried scon/bannock right in your own kitchen. With this recipe, you can make Indian Tacos, Blanket Dogs, traditional recipes that you may have only tasted at Gatherings or Pow Wows.

Northern Supply Box Subscription Box Review + Promo Code – February 2018

HeartBeat Hot Sauce (Red Habanero)

Heartbeat Hot Sauce is all about the peppers. We’ve taken the bold heat and flavour of red habaneros, the sweetness of bell peppers and the brightness of fresh lime juice to create the most versatile hot sauce possible. Fermented in small batches and entirely hand made without the use of thickening agents, preservatives or added water. Bring new life to all your favourite foods both savoury and sweet.

Northern Supply Box Subscription Box Review + Promo Code – February 2018

Spicy Jalapeno Caramel Shortbread Cookies

These cookies were made by pastry chef Jennifer Pye. These were good but we would've liked them better without the caramel.

Northern Supply Box Subscription Box Review + Promo Code – February 2018

We really enjoyed Northern Supply Box! I love that this subscription box showcases what this amazing province has to offer from Ontario farmers, cooks and chefs. This box was a real treat and it's one I'd want to get every month. The products are top quality and I enjoyed learning about them. For now, they are only shipping within Ontario but plan to expand Canada wide in a couple of months.

What do you think of Northern Supply Box?

Disclosure: This page may contain external affiliate links or referral links. The opinions on this page are my own and I do not receive payment for favourable reviews.

Share
Tweet1
Pin